Been There, Did That

Having lifted stuff from Will Durant without attribution, whether being lazy or trying to impress my vast readership with my wisdom of the ages, I will allow myself some self-delusion and say it was all for a worthy cause, which addresses neither issue, and as such is befitting a political blog.

I can’t say that I’ve read a lot of Mr. Hedges’ work, I have my information bubble too, but I have listened to a lot of George Harrison, Bob Dylan and Led Zepplin which is pretty much the same thing, on a different level, with varying volumes.

Anytime you stick your neck out in public you’re susceptible to charges of being less than perfect in your own creativity, which ignoring the facts that you were born not knowing anything, and thus most of your thoughts and patterns of thinking aren’t yours, and ignoring the fact that all is fair in love, war and politics, and God forbid you should make a mistake, or be a human being, we can get to the nut of the question.

I have to say that Jane Hamsher’s piece at FDL is one of the stupidest fucking things I’ve ever read, and that’s saying a lot. She begins by complaining about the length of the piece, which is long because Ketcham has to include a lot of examples otherwise the Jane Hamshers would be saying he didn’t have enough evidence. She continues by saying that Salon and the Prospect didn’t publish it, which Ketcham acknowledges in his piece. That’s the first time I’ve read something by Hamsher in a long time and if it’s indicative of the current state of her art, FDL is much worse off than I would have imagined.

Jane can piss liberals off by working with Grover Norquist. Bet you didn’t know that. I can say the Devil is a hard worker, (and that was lifted from someone somewhere too,) and say something nice about Eric Cantor all in the same breath. But since I don’t know consciously about Hedge’s work I can’t form an opinion on it.

But when friends disagree don’t let it be said I didn’t go out of my way to piss them both off. After all I have a reputation to protect.

Leave a Reply

