Ranking The Slogs

CR ranks the economic data reports

Here is an update to a list I posted several years ago with my ranking of economic data releases.

These lists are not exhaustive (I’m sure I left a few off), and the rankings are not static. As an example, a few years ago I ranked initial weekly unemployment claims as ‘B List’ data, but now that claims are close to normal levels, I’ve moved weekly claims down to the ‘C List’. Currently I’m watching measures of household debt a little closer and I’ve moved up the NY Fed’s quarterly “Household Debt and Credit Report” to the C-list.

Note: There has been some research by Wall Street analysts about how “surprises” for many of these indicators impact the stock market. In general the ranking is similar with the employment situation report being #1.

Because bloggers care.

Leave a Reply

